{Tutorial}: Pump Pouch Number 3

This is my third, and final, pump pouch tutorial.The exception may be some adaptations to the main three I have already made.

By special request I have designed a pump pouch that closes via velcro.

Before you begin think about how you want this to be worn. I made mine using the same loop method that I used in the second pump pouch tutorial. I find the loops with a belt that is detachable to be the easiest method with my growing child. I can easily switch it out without having to make a whole new pouch.

Also, a note on all the pouches. I highly recommend either hand washing or washing with some clothes on a gentle wash. It is not necessary as the pouch should be sturdy enough to withstand a regular wash (I have washed them with my jeans on a regular load), but a gentle wash, or hand wash will increase the longevity of the pouch as well as keeping it looking new.

There are two options on making this pouch. Included are both options. Lets start with option number 1.

Materials:

~Two pieces of fabric cut to 6″ X 6″ (I highly recommend using a flannel as your inner fabric!)

~Two pieces of fabric cut to 3″ X 6″

~1 piece of hook and loop cut to 4.5 “

~Choose your method of attaching a belt. Either use the whole belt from pouch #1 or the loops from pouch #2.

Directions:

1. Starting with the 3″ X 6″ pieces of fabric, place fabrics right sides together. Stitch around the fabric leaving a small gap for turning. Clip corners, turn and sew gap closed. (Remember to use a 1/4″ seam allowance throughout this project.)

2. Repeat with the 6″ x 6″ pieces of fabric.

3. Stitch either the hook into place, approximately 1/2″ from the top of the seam on the smaller piece.

4. Attach either your loops or your belt at the 1/2″ mark with pins so that the loops/belt are touching the right sides of the outer fabric. You can leave the pins in place (as long as they are out of the seam) or you can stitch the loops/belt into place now.

5. Now take the larger piece and place it with outer fabric touching the outer fabric of the smaller piece. Basically you are going to be seeing the liner pieces. Stitch around the entire thing. If needed, clip corners (this will leave a raw edge on your corners, only clip if it is necessary to reduce bulk). Turn.

6. If you don’t mind your top flap being a bit wider then you can simply add your loop to the top and be finished. I wanted my top flap to match the width of the bottom pocket. In order to fix this, take the edges of the top flap and fold them in to line up with the pocket. This is fairly simple to do, as the seams you have sewn below will help guide you. Pin and stitch into place.

7. Put the pump into the pouch. Fold the flap over to see where the loop should be placed in order to give a nice fit. I found that mine fits best close to the top of the flap. In this picture you can see that it is placed about 1/4″ from the top. I probably could have put it an 1/2″ from the top and been okay. Play with your pump and figure out what works best for you.

Here’s what it looks like with my son’s pump in it. The tubing just comes out the top.

And here is my happy little guy with his pouch on.

I don’t have pictures of the other option but will try to add some soon. I have had this post sitting on my computer for over a week and want to go ahead and publish it. So here it goes.

1. Start with two pieces of fabric cut to 9″ X 6″. One piece will be your liner and the other will be your outer fabric.

2. With right sides together, stitch around the fabric leaving a small gap to turn.

3. Turn and top stitch the gap closed.

4. Sew in your velcro to the top of one end of your pouch about 1/2″ down.

5. In the same way that you attached your loops/belt above, do so with this pouch. The difference is that you are going to fold to make the bottom of the pouch instead of sewing. Pin the loops/belt at about the same area as the velcro ready to be stitched into place.

6. Fold the pouch up so that the velcro is now the top of the pouch pocket and the right sides are touching. Look above to see how I did it with two pieces. You want it to be basically the same but you will have a fold at the bottom. The top of pouch pocket should be about 3″ from the fold.

7. Follow steps 6 and on from the above tutorial.

So basically you are skipping the two pieces of fabric and just folding instead of attaching another piece of fabric to the flap and back piece. I know this is kind of confusing. I will try to come back and edit it.

Why would you use this method instead of the other? I would use the original method for a fabric that has only one direction. For example, with Lightening McQueen all the Lightening pictures are going down the length of the fabric. If I did the folding method then I would have upside down McQueen’s on either the front of the pouch or the flap (I do still have upside down McQueen’s on the back but that doesn’t bother me since it isn’t showing. If it bothers you then you can break the bigger piece in half and stitch them together so that you have all the McQueen’s facing the right way when you are done.)

If you are using a fabric where the print is going in multiple directions, then the folding method is a great one to use. It won’t make a difference that you folded the fabric instead of carefully placing the print the correct direction. However, be aware that it will change the measurements a bit. You will end up with a slightly bigger pouch and may need to make a few adjustments. For me, its not a big deal. But again, for you it might be.

Hope that this makes sense and is helpful to you. Again, I will try to return with pictures for the second method soon. Things have just been crazy busy around here! I would love to see all your pouch creations! 🙂

Blessings,

I love to hear what you are thinking!