Five Minute Friday: Focus

Want to know how Five Minute Friday got started and how to participate? All the details are here.

Focus

Focusing is not one of my strong suits. I have fought add or adhd tendencies for years. But because I have an ability to do so quietly, it has been ignored.

I’ll admit though that it has been a huge struggle for me.

I remember my mom getting upset with me as a kid because I went from one book to another. I would go to the library and check out 50 books. Yeah, 50. That was the max I was allowed to check out. And every summer I would go through that many books a week.

Sure, I didn’t read all of them cover to cover. A lot of them were books that were on a particular subject. I would get subjects in my mind to research and I would spend my summer delving into the subject.

But I would also read book after book after book of fiction. And sometimes I would read three or more books at a time. How many of them I actually finished, I don’t really remember.

Now, as an adult, my tendencies are a bit different.

As an adult I tend to fly from activity to activity. From chore to chore.

This makes it nearly impossible to get things done. But somehow I manage.

My kids are taken care of. My house, its far from perfect, but its liveable.

Food gets fed. Necessities get met. And time together is accomplished.

So does it matter that I have troubles finishing one task? That I take a year to finish a blanket that I could have done in a few hours? That my dishes get done a little at a time during the day? Or that my laundry is never quite finished?

In the grand scheme of things, I don’t think so.

I think that the important thing is that my focus is on the long-term. Its on the future of my family. The future that my kids hold in their hands. As long as that is protected, I think my focus is exactly where it needs to be.

If you are just visiting my blog for the first time, thanks for stopping by! Please check out some of my other posts.

Blessings,

PS. I LOVE comments! Please let me know what you thought or what effects your focus. 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Focus

  1. Kaelynn Judd says:

    Oh goodness! I can totally relate to this blog. It seems like I am constantly beating myself up for not being able to keep the house clean, cook healthy meals, and let’s not even begin to discuss the pile of laundry on my bedroom floor. You are absolutely correct when you say that we need to focus on the longterm. If I can spend time and pour myself into my daughter’s life, then I should feel accomplished!

    I actually wrote a little about this at my blog. I’m doing a month long fast from make up. I prayed super hard about what God wanted me to fast from. Then one day as I was applying my makeup in front of my daughter it just came to me. I don’t want her to think that she needs to hide her God-given face. I don’t want her to believe that any amount of concealer or powder will make her more beautiful. What is on the inside is what counts!

    I’d love for you to stop by and tell me your thoughts on the matter!

    http://kaelynnjudd.com/index.php/2012/09/five-minute-friday-focus/

    • adaynasmile says:

      I will definitely stop by Kaelynn! I love that you are following what God has put on your heart. I never would have thought to do a fast from makeup! I admit that it hasn’t been a struggle for me. My mom was always very minimalist in her makeup and I have always looked at it as someting fun to do. But at the same time it is so easy to fall into the temptation of thinking it is necessary to make our beauty shine through. I know there have been times when I have fallen into this trap. I love what you said about what’s on the inside is what counts. It really is! Even with the best makeup beauty cannot really be faked. The world will know we are Christians by our love, not by how perfect we look. Thanks for giving me something to reflect on this morning. And thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Michelle Newman says:

    Reading these posts on focusing makes me wonder if I have ADD too. 😛 There’s nothing wrong with here a little, there a little, and reading 5 books at once. 😛 At least something’s getting done, yes? 🙂 And as long as the long term focus is being met in the fluttering from this to that 🙂

    • adaynasmile says:

      I agree. I think. Lol! I do have troubles getting things done because of my lack of focus, but I agree that the most important thing is our long term focus. Focusing on the promises of God and Kingdom works. If I am focusing on that (and I admit there are a lot of times when I am not) then I guess I am doing alright. Thanks for stopping by and leaving me your comments. 🙂

  3. Kyra says:

    I needed this today. I was just feeling overwhelmed by all the things that needed to be done when I sat down to eat a snack and read this post. I think sometimes we are so focused on other things that we forget what’s really important. You are right. In the grand scheme of things it doesn’t matter if the clothes get folded or the dishes get done. It’s our families that matter. Families are eternal. Laundry isn’t, thank goodness! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂
    Hugs!

    • adaynasmile says:

      I’m so glad it blessed you. 🙂 It is hard to not get wrapped up in the mundane. Oiy! How many times do I get stressed over stupid stuff instead of focusing on what is important? And with a new baby it is easy to become overwhelmed. So glad that it helped you. Lots of love! 🙂

I love to hear what you are thinking!

