HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

I know, I’m a few days late. But I hope that you are having an awesome new year already and that you have many great things in store!

Around here, life has been more crazy than usual.

October brought us another move. We went from 90 degree weather to 50 degree weather in a couple of days. It was a quite an adjustment!

But with it came some beautiful fall scenery. Here are some photos I shot early in our explorations of the area.

Fall collage

It was absolutely gorgeous!

Of course winter came and the leaves have pretty much all fallen. And with winter comes Christmas!

I was very busy during the month of December sewing up a whole host of gifts. Here’s just a glimpse at some of the things that I sewed up.

2014 ornaments

The ornaments included one more red Ninja and all were done on my embroidery machine. They were purchased through Dreamcatcher Designs. I just love how they turned out!

Christmas sewing
I made 15 (I think) pairs of pj pants. I used the CKC Taylor’s PJ pants in Kids (free pattern from fabric.com), Tween, and Adult. For my nieces and nephews I cheated and bought them shirts to go with their pants. But for my kids and husband I went ahead and sewed them up some comfy long sleeve shirts.

For the boys I used the top from Peek-a-Boo Pattern shop for the Happy Feet PJs. I used appliqué files from Applique Mama for the Winter Penguin and Santa Reindeer.

For my husband I used the Greenstyle Creations Hudson Hooded t-shirt, without the optional pocket and hood. It was such an easy pattern to sew up and so soft and comfy! I had to try it on for him before I wrapped it up. 😉

Also included in the collage are the doll pants I made my niece for a sewing contest via Scientific Seamstress. I used the doll Easy Fits (came with the kids pattern) and the doll scollops from the Scallopini. I didn’t win the contest, but I think the pants are adorable!

For my mom I made her a skirt (in khaki corduroy) following a variety of different tutorials on how to take measurements and make a skirt. Hopefully it will serve her well for work! The top is the Seafarer top by Sew Much Ado. I originally bought the pattern for myself but my mom got the first version of it (the top in pink)! It was such a simple pattern, and the material I picked was so soft!

My boys got new clothes for Christmas too! S begged for the Spiderman Christmas fabric so I had to make all three of them special shirts for Christmas Eve. I used the Scientific Seamstress Bowling Shirt for their shirts and the Peek-a-Boo patterns Castaway Cargos (minus the side cargo pocket) for their pants. I love how it turned out!

And the final picture in the collage is me, in my Greenstyle Creations Laurel. I whipped it up for a Christmas party for Aaron’s work. Of course, he waited until that night to inform me that it was 20’s themed. Oh well. It was a comfy dress and worked just fine for the event and for Christmas.

I also tested for Terra’s Treasures Andover Pullover in December. It is such a cute design! I think that it could be more flattering on me if I brought it in some more (and remember I am about 6 months pregnant!), but it is definitely a good pattern that would be worth checking out.

 

IMG_9059

I’ve got several more projects in the works, including hoodies (I have already finished 2 of the 5) for the family that I wanted to have done before Christmas. But with everything going on, I’m impressed with the amount I did get done!

What did you do for Christmas this year? Did you make any gifts? I’d love to see what you are creating!

blog signature

2 thoughts on “HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

  1. MaryO says:

    I made about 30 circle scarves as gifts for coworkers and family! I think I might start early for Christmas this year and make them rice filled neck warmers (microwaveable) for sore muscles. 🙂 I was given a serger for cheistmas, so that should make it even easier! 😉 happy new year!

    • adaynasmile says:

      Sergers are awesome! Once you get used to it, it makes the work so much faster and much more professional. I love mine! Neck warmers are a great idea! I’m sure that they will be loved! And with the serger, it should be super fast!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

