For the days when life is too hard…

Let me be honest with you. There are days when life overwhelms me. Days when my depression takes over. Where I am angry at everything that happens in my life. At my kids, my husband, and even the TV stations. Days when I feel trapped and alone.

It happens more than I would like it to.

Lately I have been succumbing to that anger and depression. I have been wanting to curl up in my bed and just hide or sleep all day. I have been angry at my children over the littlest of things. And I have let my temper get ahold of me.

I don’t share this so that you will feel for me, or out of some kind of pity party. I share this to be transparent. To let you know that you are not alone.

There will be days when you too will be tired of your job, your family, your kids, your significant other…or simply life in general.

There will be days when it will be hard for you to get out of bed.

Days where all you want is to quit.

I’m here to tell you that it is OKAY.

Its okay to have rough patches. To not be yourself.

Its okay to struggle with the day to day and to feel overwhelmed with life.

Its okay to wish that you didn’t have so much on your plate and to want to no longer carry the burden on your shoulders.

Its okay to grieve over the life that you wished you would have, but didn’t end up with.

Its okay.

The trick is to not allow it to overcome you.

Grieve if you need to. Take time for yourself. But don’t let the struggles of today overcome the joy of tomorrow.

I share this with you after having a couple of weeks of pure struggle. Of allowing myself to be overwhelmed.

For me, I find that reading God’s Word and spending some quality time in prayer really changes my attitude and outlook in a way that nothing else does.

It doesn’t have to be a specific passage. But I find that reading stories like Job’s (in the book of Job) and Joseph’s (Genesis 37-50) are great for reminding me how minor my struggles are. Paul is another inspiration. You can read his life stories in many of the letters of the New Testament. Romans is one of my favorites.

Exercise is also amazing for lifting the spirits. Go for a walk, get a breath of fresh air if possible, and get your heart beating. Dance, run, swim, bike…whatever you like to do that gets your heart elevated. It will release all those good for you chemicals and help you to feel more yourself. Plus, its great “me time.”

Another option, is to take a nice warm bath. Soak in some oils, and epsom salt. Play some soothing music. Whatever makes you smile. And simply RELAX. That can be so difficult for us, in our society.

And finally, turn off your electronics. Get off of Facebook. Stop watching TV. Don’t mindlessly play the candy game. Find a book to read. Clean the house. Write a journal entry. Find something productive to do that is off of electronics. Something that does not tell you about the latest drama, or ask you for more money, or cause you to wish for something more. Electronics are not bad. But there are times when they can be draining.

Get outside! Enjoy the sun. Give your loved ones some hugs. And remember that today is just one of many days. This too will pass.

What is your favorite thing to do, in order to get you out of a funky mood?

Blessings,

blog signature

5 thoughts on “For the days when life is too hard…

  1. Tricia Maze says:

    SLEEP! I feel like a zombie if I don’t get much sleep for awhile. Before I had the baby, I also use to pick a random major street and just drive down it to see where it went. I ended up in all kinds if places. Now, I’ll take the baby and close us up in my bedroom and just lay down, take care of the baby, and veg on some Golden Girls or Cosby Show until I feel better.

    • Tricia Maze says:

      Oh, and my favorite product is the jet black hair band! My hair is shorter than ever right now and some headbands like that would be nice. 🙂 I didn’t know where to put this info for the giveaway, sorry!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

