Candy Castle Peppermint Swirl Pattern Review

If you are someone who sews PDF patterns, you have probably seen the Peppermint Swirl. The twirls, the swirls, the fabric bends and curves just right to make a wonderfully fun dress perfect for any little girl.

I’ve made 5 of these dresses. 4 in size 5 and one in size 18 months. Each one has been a labor of love. And each one has amazed me at their outcome.

Here’s the dresses that I have made.

Peppermint Swirl dress collage

My final dress was inspired by the all so popular ice queen from the newest Disney movie. I altered the pattern of the bodice to make it mimic the ice queen’s bodice. I also made a cape to drape over it. But that’s not part of the pattern. 😉

Here’s a glimpse of it with the cape.

Ice Queen Cape

Although there are many women who have tackled this pattern as beginning seamstresses, I would not recommend it to someone just starting out. It is not a complicated pattern but it does have a lot of parts to it and might be overwhelming to someone just starting out. It is perfect for the intermediate or advanced seamstress.  Or for a very brave advanced beginner!

I am in love with this pattern! It goes from 6 months to 12 years old.

Need an adult version? Candy Castle has one of those for you too! It goes from 11 years to a women’s XL and pairs with either your favorite bodice or the Cherry Cosmopolitan Dress bodice (shown in the photo) also offered by Candy Castle Patterns. (Notice the beautiful woman is this photo? That’s the amazing designer Rebecca who created these beautiful patterns.)


I
 really hope you will give these dresses a shot! They are truly beautiful and worth every second of your time.

blog signature

*I have not been paid for this review. I personally bought the original Peppermint Swirl Dress pattern. The pattern belongs to Candy Castle Patterns, but the review and photos of (aside from the two from the Candy Castle Patterns website) are entirely my own and are not to be used without consent.

 

One thought on “Candy Castle Peppermint Swirl Pattern Review

I love to hear what you are thinking!

