A Healthy Twist on Holiday Favorites: Pumpkin Cheesecake

A couple of weeks ago I visited the famous cheesecake restaurant and indulged in a piece of their seasonal, and delicious, pumpkin cheesecake. It was A-Mazing!

But I couldn’t eat it without a guilty conscious. I knew it was full of fat, and sugar. Carbs that would spike my sugars and force my body to work hard to produce insulin to keep my sugars level. And I knew there had to be a way to replicate it at home.

I got to thinking about my pumpkin pie recipe and a recipe I have seen floating around the internet for a pumpkin cheesecake that is layered and also full of sugar. It took a bit of tweaking but before long I had a delicious low carb, protein packed, pumpkin cheesecake.

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Serves 8

Ingredients:

Crust:

2 cups Almond Meal

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp butter

1 egg

Dash of stevia powder or one packet of Tuvia

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Pie Filling:

3/4 cup Truvia or Xylitol (I usually use a combination of the two)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

1/2 tsp ginger

2 eggs

1 cup of pumpkin puree

12 oz 1/3 fat cream cheese, softened

Directions:

1. In a food processor combine the almond flour, salt, stevia, and pumpkin pie spice. Pulse a few times until combined.

2. Add softened butter and egg. Continue to pulse until it starts forming a ball.

3. Spread into a greased 9″ pie pan. Set aside.

4. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

5. In a large bowl, or the food processor, beat the cream cheese until smooth.  Add pumpkin, eggs, sweetener, and seasoning. Mix until smooth. Pour into prepared crust.

6. Place pie on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. Reduce heat to 350 and continue to cook for another 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean.

7. Cut into 8 delicious slices, serve with fat free whipped cream (or beat your own), and enjoy!

And now for the nutritional information. Mine versus the cheesecake place.

Mine:

Calories: 328

Fat: 28

Net Carbs: 4

Protein: 12

Theirs:

Calories: 740

Fat: 31

Net Carbs: 95

Protein: 0

Now keep in mind that their cheesecake slices are a bit bigger. But not big enough to be worth that many calories, carbs, or fat!

If you are craving some cheesecake, give this recipe a try. I think it is the perfect combination of pumpkin and cheesecake. Yum!

Do you like cheesecake? Do you occasionally indulge in a piece at the famous restaurant?

Blessings,

blog signature

*Note: Since drafting this post, I have made a couple more cheesecakes. If you really like cheesecake I suggest upping the amount of cream cheese and cutting back on the same amount of pumpkin. So instead of 1 cup of pumpkin try 1/2 a cup and add another 4 ozs of cream cheese. This will keep the ratio the same but will increase the cheesecake flavor. Personally I like it with the smaller amount of cream cheese but my husband loves cream cheese and prefers it with less pumpkin. Give it a try and let me know which you prefer!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

