Vanilla Spice Smoothie

Here is another great FSF recipe for those of you who following THM and are looking for an option other than chocolate. To be honest, this has become my favorite.

You will have to imagine with me, as I don’t have a photo. I will try to insert one in here in the near future. But for now, just imagine a tall glass (or Mason jar as I prefer) filled with a white creamy, icy drink that is full of flavor and packed with protein. Yum! Makes me want to go get out the blender right now!

Even if you aren’t a THM’er, you can also benefit from this delicious beverage. It is an amazing drink to have in the mornings when you are in a rush. And since it is so easy to throw together, it is a great alternative to the premade protein drinks.

Two notes on this and the previous smoothie, Lemon Cream Smoothie. It both cases the cottage cheese can be switched out for Greek yogurt. It will change the taste a bit but it should still provide the right consistency. It is also not necessary to use protein powder. The smoothie will not be as thick and fluffy, and it will not have all the protein benefits as it would with the protein powder, but if you are missing the protein powder it is still possible to make this or the Lemon Cream smoothies. Play around with it and see what works for you.

The secret to this smoothie is the pumpkin pie spice. If you don’t have any, try using cinnamon and nutmeg instead, but don’t leave it out completely as the spice makes a big difference!

Vanilla Spice Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Low Fat Cottage Cheese (I love the Daisy 2%)
  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (it is important to use vanilla or to increase the vanilla flavoring)
  • 1/2 Cup of Water
  • Sweetener to taste (I use Stevia Extract or Truvia)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • Dash of Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 5-10 Ice Cubes

Directions:

  • Blend together all ingredients except the ice.
  • Taste to make sure you have desired vanilla flavoring and sweetness.
  • Add ice and process until smooth and creamy.
  • Enjoy!

Total fat: 4 grams, Total Carbs: 5 grams

This smoothie is great for filling me up and making me feel like I am having a super treat. I love the vanilla flavor and the hint of spice from the pumpkin pie seasoning. Its not so overpowering that it becomes a pumpkin pie type drink (although those are delicious as well), but still adds a subtle delicious flavor that I search for as I down this nutritious beverage.

Hope that you find this as delicious as I do! Here’s to losing weight and being healthy the delicious way!

Blessings,

blog signature

I love to hear what you are thinking!

