Lemon Cream Smoothie

I have fallen in love with my blender.

Its a cheapo blender by Oster that Aaron got on clearance while he was in tech school. Four years later and it has surpassed most of our other small appliances.

It is far from fancy. It has a lot of buttons, but honestly, high and low is the basics of what they do. And it may take a bit longer than a fancy expensive blender to make a smoothie, but I can still get creamy, delicious smoothies/milkshakes within just a few minutes.

The other day I was craving a lemon flavored dessert. But it was breakfast time and I needed something to eat while I nursed G. And so this protein filled smoothie, similar in nature to the Fat Stripping Frappas of THM, was born.

Lemon Cream Smoothie

I wish I had a good picture for you. The picture just doesn’t do it justice. Believe me, though. This is an amazing combination. Tart and sweet.

Lemon Cream Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese (I like Daisy 2%. And even if you aren’t a cottage cheese fan, trust me on this ingredient.)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use this one from Swanson’s.)
  • 1/2 cup of Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1/2 cup of Water
  • 1 tsp Lemon Extract
  • 1 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • Sweetener, to taste (I use Stevia Extract or Truvia)
  • 5-10 ice cubes
  • optional, 1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • optional, 1/2 cup Blueberries
  • optional, 1/2 tsp Poppy Seeds
  • optional, 1 Tbsp Chia Seeds

Directions:

  • Put all liquid, and dry ingredients into the blender, leaving out the ice cubes for now.
  • Blend until mixed and the cottage cheese curds are smooth.
  • Taste to make sure there is enough sweetener. Adjust as needed.
  • Add ice cubes.
  • Crush and blend until light and fluffy.
  • Enjoy!

Fat: approx 4 grams

Carbs: 5 grams

THM’ers: As written this fits nicely under the FP category and can be a great substitute for the traditional chocolate FSF. If you add a tablespoon of chia seeds, you will increase the fat content by 3 grams which will put it squarely into the S category in THM. If blueberries are added, remember to keep it to only 1/2 a cup in order to stay within the FP category. Any more and you will be going into the E category. 1 teaspoon of poppy seeds is 1 gram of fat. This would put the fat at 5 grams which is just barely in the FP category. Just watch how many you add.

Enjoy!

Dana

3 thoughts on “Lemon Cream Smoothie

  1. Joellen says:

    This looks amazing! I’ll have to sneak it–if the kids see the cottage cheese out, they’ll devour the last of it. I keep buying it for THM recipes, and the kids keep eating it before I get any. :-p

  2. Amy Barnhart says:

    Really great creamy taste! I sweetened with NuNaturals stevia only. I used just a 1/2 scoop of Swansons protein powder and omitted the blueberries and seeds (didn’t have any). I loved it and can’t wait to enjoy it with some chia and raspberries when I have those on hand! I can see myself making this a few times a week. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Amy Barnhart says:

    I wanted to add – for those who don’t care for cottage cheese, don’t worry! You can’t detect any cottage cheese and I used a cheap $20 blender to make this and it blended everything smooth! I’ve been using the Daisy 2%.

I love to hear what you are thinking!

