A Little Fall of Rain…

IMG_62792 with frame and name

We’ve been getting quite a bit of rain around here lately. And I can’t help but sing to myself the Les Mis song.

“A little fall of rain, can hardly hurt me now. You’re here. That’s all I need to know. And you will keep me safe. And you will keep me close. And rain, will make the flowers grow.”

Ah, Eponine! How tragic is your story!

But I digress.

I braved the rain this afternoon to take some photos of our flowers. How beautiful they are! And how they are loving the little fall of rain.

another sunflower 2

Sunflower 3

My husband is growing these beautiful sunflowers, which is one of my favorite flowers.

They remind me of grandma.

She is no longer with us, but she was a Kansas girl where sunflowers are weeds. She used to remind me of that anytime I told her how beautiful I thought they were. For a long time I wanted them to be one of my flowers in my wedding. It didn’t happen but maybe if we renew our vows someday it will. It would be a great tribute to a woman I miss dearly.

My flowers 2

I have no idea what the name of this plant is. It is growing in our front yard along with other Delaware “weeds” that I happen to enjoy. This one was planted by the maintenance crew before we got here but is the prettier this year than I have ever seen it. I just love the pinkish/purple flowers!

My kids are loving the rain too. Here are some shots of them playing in the rain and enjoying our little “stream” in our back yard. Summer days can be so much fun!

Boys in the rain

Love this one of S.

S playing in the rain with blog info

And my precious T, who was contemplating something.

 IMG_61832

G stayed inside and took a nice little nap while the boys got soaked. He will get to enjoy the water soon enough.

We have had some warm, sunny days too. Here’s a collage of the family at the park the other day.

boys at the parkSo far we are enjoying our summer. Looking forward to daddy having some time off and grandma coming to visit.

Blessings!

blog signature

One thought on “A Little Fall of Rain…

  1. Peggy Curtis says:

    Dana,
    I love your pictures on this page . The boys look like they were having lots of fun. The flower pics are beautiful. I love sunflowers too.
    Peggy

I love to hear what you are thinking!

