Embarking on a New Journey

I’m going to be very open and honest here.

I have at least 50 pounds (60 if you go by the BMI but my body doesn’t like to go that low) to lose.

Probably not a shocker. I have had three children in the last three years (hard to believe that S will be 3 in May).

But its time. G was born 6 weeks ago (more on his birth in a later post). He is beautiful and perfect and wonderful. And I didn’t gain all that much with him. Actually I haven’t gained anymore with all three pregnancies than I did with S’s.

I gained a good 25 pounds while my husband was in boot camp and tech school. It was a stressful time for me and I turned to eating as a method of helping me cope. Although I was exercising (sometimes 3 hours a day), I was gaining instead of losing.

When I conceived S, I backed way down on my exercising and switched from diet soda to regular. I continued to gain, resulting in a pregnancy gain of 50 pounds, leading to a total weight gain in the course of a little over a year of 75 pounds. Incredible!

I did lose some of that right away after delivering S. I went down a good 25 pounds. But that was still 50 I had packed on.

6 weeks later I was pregnant with T.

His pregnancy was complicated. I gained back those 25 pounds and ended up delivering him early. Had he gone full term, I think I probably would have gained another 20! I was addicted to going to Sonic and getting Route 44 Cherry Dr. Pepper’s. Nothing tasted better to me.

I struggled to lose weight while I breastfed T. I breastfed for a year and had minimal success. I lost those 25 pounds again but never got much below that.

Shortly before discovering we were pregnant with G I found out that I have hypothyroidism. This was causing a number of symptoms, including being tired easily and having troubles losing weight. I was put on medication and then monitored throughout my pregnancy to ensure that my levels were correct.

During G’s pregnancy i did really well. Although I did end up gaining those 25 pounds back again (almost, I was a few pounds under), I did it during the end of the pregnancy, and I birthed a baby that was 2 pounds larger than my previous two.

But now its time to do something about the weight. Its time to get rid of that last 50 pounds, and work on getting healthy and strong before baby number 4 comes into the picture.

So here’s me being completely honest.

Current weight: 225 pounds

Goal weight: 175 pounds

Goal date to reach weight loss by: March 1, 2014 (allowing me to lose weight at a slower pace and keep it off)

Goals for this week:

1. No more regular soda. Although I already am a big water drinker Dr. Pepper is a weakness for me. This week I am making the switch to diet soda (for when I really feel like I need one), tea, and more water.

2. Exercise at least three days this week. Going to begin the couch to 5 k program.

3. Make sure to eat at least one vegetable a day.

These are simple goals. The idea is to make 3 simple goals each week in an effort to slowly transform my life. I want this to not be a diet but to be a life style change. I know what to do, I just need to get back to doing it.

Are you on a weight loss journey? How is it going? What simple steps are you taking to ensure success?

Blessings,

blog signature

One thought on “Embarking on a New Journey

  1. MaryO says:

    I’ve been working on losing baby fat for the last year. I really started seeing results when we got a nuribullet. I’m doing fruit and veggie smoothies twice a day. It makes it so much easier to get veggies in (and really you could so it with any blender). My 1yr old loves them! I’ve still got 30 lbs to go. I’ve also been counting calories with an ap on my phone (my fitness pal) and tracking my activity with a fit bit (tells me if I ate too much how many calories I need to eat to get back into the right range. Good luck!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

