Oh How I Love Pinterest! #5

I had no idea how popular these posts would be when I first started them. Thanks to all of you who have wandered over to my blog to check them out.

This week I have been playing and learning photoshop in order to make my photos better. There are so many tools on the program that it is a bit overwhelming! But I am finally getting the hang of it. To prove it to you I have included a collage of pictures of a hairstyle that was pinned on pinterest. Thanks to thecoffeeshopblog.com for the layout and the awesome tutorials. They were very helpful! If you are delving into the world of photoshop, check out all the fun things they have to offer!

(The background is from a digital scrapbooking pack by Jen Allyson. You can download it here.)

I thought it would be fun to change directions with my pins. There are tons of really cute hairstyles that are floating around on pinterest! Here are a few of my favorites.

*Note: If you follow me on pinterest you can find all the things I have tried on my “I tried it!” board.

Hair:

1. When I saw this hairstyle on pinterest I knew that I had to try it! So Sunday morning, after I got out of the shower, I braided my hair and got to work on this awesome hairstyle. It was a bit tricky to figure out what to do with my hair since I have so much of it and it did have a lot of fly-aways since I did it when it was wet, but I thought it turned out nice and got some compliments on it. My advice: Don’t be afraid to bend your ends back and tuck them under. It is important to make sure that the ends are covered or you have some funny looking stray hairs.

It doesn’t take all that long to do, so give I recommend you give it a try!

Here’s my hair all done up.

The Braided Bun

2. This next one is a favorite of mine. It is super easy and looks cute! I first found it last summer when I was trying to come up with new ways to get my hair out of my little guys’ reach. This was perfect because it only takes a few minutes but looks like you spent more time on it. If you leave it messier than it is perfect for a trip to the beach or something more casual. I usually do three buns instead of 4 but it works exactly the same way.

3. This hairstyle is also from Elsie’s blog “A Beautiful Mess.” I tried and tried it and my hair was stubborn, refusing to work. If I spray it or roll it damp then it curls in the areas that dry but it doesn’t dry overnight. If I do it dry then it doesn’t do anything at all. The one time I did finally get it to curl I had to blow dry it and it ended up being super curly and frizzy. But I know that other people have had great success with this style of curling and it was super popular in the days before electricity. I suggest giving it a try and seeing how your hair does.

4. Another way to curl your hair that is very popular on the internet these days is the sock bun. I have seen the video and read the instructions, but again, it has not been very successful for me. But it looks gorgeous in the picture! I want to try it again (for the third, or fourth time) and see if I can figure out a way to make it work. I think the trick for me is going to have to be to make sure it isn’t too damp. If I could get a pretty bun and leave it all day and night it would probably be perfect. But I just can’t seem to manage it. If you have any hints, pass them along!

5. And finally, here is a video on how to make a fishtail braid. I love this video. Although I don’t cut off the elastic (seems like a waste), having it there does make it a lot easier and makes for a much nicer braid.

If you try out any of these hairstyles let me know how they worked for you. I would love to see your pictures and hear your tips!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

