Week 3 of Gratitudes and Photo #3

Week 3’s theme was Community. Here is a picture of our neighborhood from our back yard. It is a community of military families who are often miles away from their families and their closest friends. It is here that we have found new “family” members and created a community.

Week 3: Community

My husband says it looks a little bleak, and I suppose that in some ways he is right. But I see beauty in the colors and in the plainness of the houses. I see lives that are filled with adventure and uncertainty, as we come and go from one place to another. A life of temporary situations, and lifelong friendships. I see men and women who are willing to risk their lives and the lives of their loved ones to fight for something beautiful. A group of people who have much more in common than shared walls and boring paint colors. So in the bleakness of the cloudy day and the bland colors, I see a vibrant way of life, and a community that is joined together by something greater than self. And that is a rarity in our modern society.

Here are this week’s gratitudes:

Gratitude 17: For hot tea (Sleepytime) and honey. They feel marvelous on my sore throat and taste delicious!

Gratitude 18: I am grateful that S has caught up and surpassed what is expected for a 19 month old. He did so well on his evaluation today! His language is developing perfectly, his comprehension is there, he has had excellent growth (even with the diabetes), he looks completely healthy, his cognitive skills are excellent, and he is totally caught up in fine and gross motor skills. They were amazed by how much growth has happened in the last 6 months! He’s a rock star!

Gratitude 19: God knows us from the moment the egg meets the sperm. Our DNA is determined from the moment of conception. A little life, a little person, is fighting for survival before the mom even knows that they exist. And God knows everything that is to come. I am so grateful for my gifts of the womb! (In response to a video that I found on Facebook.)

Gratitude 20: I am grateful that it is the weekend. And so glad that Nenna was able to stop by for a bit today. It was so good to catch up.

Gratitude 21: I am grateful for comfort foods. Enjoyed some creamed eggs on toast with my little guys today. Something we ate a lot as kids. Yummy!

Gratitude 22: I’m grateful for the wonderful women who take care of my little guys at church. It is so nice to be able to sit with my hubby and enjoy the service without having to worry about the boys.

What are you grateful for this week?

2 thoughts on “Week 3 of Gratitudes and Photo #3

  1. dangillis says:

    Great list of gratitude. However, I have to ask – what are creamed eggs? I’ve never (at least that I am aware of) heard of them or tried them – other than the Cadbury Easter Creme Egg variety that are chocolate balls of sugary goo that I used to love as a kid. I’m intrigued.

    • adaynasmile says:

      Hi! Creamed eggs on toast is a cream sauce with hardboiled eggs in it. It is served over toast. We grew up eating it as a dinner but it turns out that most people who eat it enjoy it as a breakfast, which I suppose makes sense. I will be posting the recipe on here soon, so be looking for it! Thanks for reading!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

