Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Yummy in my Tummy Salsa

Leave a comment

I love salsa! Especially when it is homemade with fresh ingredients. Nothing can beat it! And if you are trying to lose weight, salsa (and guacamole) can be great alternatives to condiments. I use it as a dip (try it with some carrots or other veggies if you are avoiding chips), on my turkey burgers, and of course, any of my Mexican food.

Salsa (and guacamole) is one of the simplest treats you can make. It does take some prep time but is so worth the little bit of time and chopping!

salsa ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 8 Roma Tomatoes
  • 3 jalepanos
  • Handful of cilantro
  • 2 Tbsp of minced garlic
  • Onion/Garlic Powders
  • Large Onion
  • Lemon Juice
  • Tomato Sauce

Directions:

1. Chop all vegetables into small pieces. Mix together.
salsa ingredients

2. Add a squeeze of lemon juice, and a dash each of onion and garlic powder.

3. If you want the salsa to have more liquid add some tomato sauce. If the tomatoes are juicy enough or if you like your salsa to be more pico del gallo style then this is unnecessary. I like to add just a half of a can of tomato sauce in order to make it a bit easier to scoop up on my chip. salsa

If you want to make guacamole, there is only one more simple step.

4. Cut the avocado in half. Scoop out the insides, setting aside the pit. Mash with fork. Add your freshly made salsa to your taste. guacamole

Here are some tips:

  • Start with fresh ingredients. I usually plan to buy the ingredients the day of or the day before I plan on making the salsa.
  • If you are making guacamole, pick an avocado that is already very ripe or buy it in advance and let it sit on the counter. You will know it is ripe if the skin has blackened and it is kind of squishy.
  • You can switch out the jalapenos for any peppers you want. If you want it to be more spicy you can choose habaneros. If you want a mild flavor you can go for a sweet bell pepper.
  • If you aren’t a big fan of onions it is easy to substitute the white onion for green onions. This will give you a more mild flavor.
  • Some people are allergic to cilantro. I personally like the flavor that cilantro gives. However, I have successfully made this salsa without cilantro and it still had a good flavor. I know some people use cabbage or parsley instead.
  • In this batch I didn’t have any fresh garlic so I switched it out for organic minced garlic. Although fresh is always better, organic minced garlic is a great alternative and makes for quick preparation. I don’t really notice much of a difference.
  • Cilantro is cheap and comes in a huge bundle. It can be found next to the parsley in produce section. You only need a small amount of cilantro to go in your salsa. The rest can be used in various recipes or chop it up and use it in your salad.
  • I used regular Italian tomato sauce in this batch of salsa because it is what I had in the pantry. I love to use El Pato, which can usually be found in the ethnic section of most grocery stores. It is a tomato sauce with jalepanos in it. There are two types. One comes in a yellow can and the other in a green one. I really don’t know what the difference is. They both are delicious! (And they are very cheap!)

el pato

If you can be patient, make it and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight. The flavors will meld and the lemon juice will do all its wonderful work. It always tastes better after a night of sitting, but its not easy to make it and then wait! Feel no shame if you decide you have to dig in right away!

Enjoy!!

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

