Green Chili Enchiladas

My mother-in-law, Jamie, makes amazing green chili enchiladas.

As a kid I grew up eating what I think of as a more traditional Mexican enchilada. The kind with a red sauce that my mom (when she wasn’t too pressed for time) would make from dried red chili peppers.

Although I liked the enchiladas my mom used to make, I was never a huge fan of the red enchilada sauce. It was okay but it just was a bit too…I don’t know…blah. Not that my mom’s were bad. She did a great job making them. I just wasn’t a huge fan of that kind of sauce.

Shortly after hanging out with my husband’s family I had Jamie’s homemade green chili enchiladas. I think the first time I had them was actually at church at some cowboy lunch thing they were doing. (Ah the southwest!) Although I had discovered green chilis in college (love them in a cheap box mix of corn bread), I had never had a green chili enchilada. I fell in love!

These are a huge hit in our family! Family members are always asking that she make them when we have get-togethers. Since we are across the country, we don’t get to have them very often. So I decided to come up with my own version.

Enchilada collage

Ingredients:

  • Tortillas (I prefer the soft taco size)
  • 2 cans of green chili enchilada sauce (You can find this in the ethnic section of most supermarkets. I love the kind that you can get at Target!)
  • 16 oz of shredded cheese (Use whatever blend you want. I use a blend of pepper jack and Mexican blend. I also buy it pre-shredded to save on the work since it is about the same price.)
  • Milk
  • Cooked, cooled, and shredded Chicken Breast (I usually do one breast per person. I cook it ahead of time with a little bit of broth and a can of the green chili sauce in the crock pot.)
  • Seasoning: Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Cumin, and Chili powder (Feel free to substitute as needed. Use these when cooking the chicken. Just a couple of teaspoons based on your tastes.)

Directions:

  • Start with cooked, cooled, and shredded chicken. If you didn’t add flavors while cooking, go ahead and add some seasoning now. I like to make my own blend with the onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, and chili powder. I don’t use any salt as I am trying to watch my sodium intake and additional salt is completely unnecessary in this recipe. But if all you have is garlic salt or onion salt then go ahead and use it.
  • Open the second can of sauce. Mix about half of the sauce into the shredded chicken. (Save the yummy broth! You can use it to cook more meat in at a later time, or to make a soup broth.)
  • Add half of the cheese to the mixture. I use a plate and mix the chicken, cheese, and sauce mixture up really well. If you would like, you can add some sour cream to this mixture. Just make sure it is an even blend because you are going to scoop this mixture into the tortillas. (Another option is to have each item in a separate bowl and scoop a little bit from each onto the tortillas. I just find it easier to pre-mix.) (#2)
  • In a large bowl (or pan since I don’t have a good bowl to do this in) pour a small amount of milk. Just pour in enough that you have the bottom covered. (#3)
  • Start assembling. Dip a tortilla in the milk (#4), lightly soaking both sides. Transfer to your empty working plate. Put a spoonful of chicken mixture on the tortilla. (#5)
  • Roll tortilla, as follows: Fold up the bottom (#6), then fold the side closest to you (#7), keep rolling making sure to enclose all of the chicken into the tortilla (#8).
  • Place rolled tortilla seam side down into a greased casserole dish. (#9)
  • Cover the tortillas with the rest of the green chili sauce (#10, #11), and top with shredded cheese. (#12)
  • Place in a preheated oven at 350°F for about 30 minutes or until it is heated through and the cheese is nice and melty.

Green Chili Enchiladas all cooked up

Enjoy!!

Linking up:

 Oopsey Daisy

Oopsey Daisy
5 thoughts on “Green Chili Enchiladas

I love to hear what you are thinking!

