Little Hands

I love looking at my little guy’s hands. They are so tiny and perfect. But I know that it won’t last. Before long those little precious hands will be the size of a man’s. And they will no longer want to hold my hand. As they should, they will someday be holding their own child’s little hands and marveling in their smallness.

I’ve wanted a way to keep a hold of the memory of these precious little hands. I know that there are ways of doing so with clay and paint but I really didn’t want to deal with the mess.

The other day I was browsing through pinterest and I discovered a post about copying your little one’s hand using the home copier/scanner. I loved the idea! What a great and easy way to capture those details! And not only will I be able to have a print out but I will have it on my computer to alter and send to my family members or share on facebook.

All you have to do is take your little one to the copier. Place his/her hand on the copier and put yours on top. Push the copy button and wait until it copies. That’s it! I chose to then scan the images because I didn’t want to attempt to repeat the process with my computer connected (its kinda in an awkward place).

Here are the results:

Little S’s hand pinned under mine. I tried to have his hand next to mine but he was too wiggly. It took a few tries to get it to come out well. 18 month olds are far more interested in the colors, lights, and buttons!

Look at how little T’s hands are. He held really still for me most of the time. I only had to do his once. At 9 months he is still willing to just let mommy drive.

After a bit of simple editing on picnik.com (which is FREE!), I came up with these. (Names are left off to respect my kids’ privacy.)

Pretty cool, huh? Just a few simple edits and the fingers pop a bit more. I love that I can add text about which child and age the hand is. And perhaps print them out for as a Christmas gift? 😉

One thought on “Little Hands

  1. Kyra says:

    I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!!! I have tried the paint and stuff too. Mostly I just get smudges. This is genius. Thanks for sharing!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

