Diabetes and Illness

So I veered away from the topic of cloth diapers for a few days due to the fact that my boys are both sick. I too have come down with a cold. Its pretty miserable but not enough to go to the doctor about it.

I’ve learned a lot this week about how illness effects diabetes. S has been all over the charts with his blood sugars. His ketones are elevated. And getting him to eat or drink has been a challenge.

In order to make sure that he is doing okay, I have been up at night checking his sugars and ketones every few hours. The instructions from the doc are to check every 2 hours. There is no way that I can do that at night, so I have followed those instructions until about 3 in the morning. Then I crawl into bed for a few hours of sleep.

And sure enough, during those hours, his ketones have been spiking, and his sugars have climbed.

It’s so frustrating and scary.

On one hand, I know that he, and I need the sleep. In order to get that sleep, I can’t get up every 2 hours to check his sugars and ketones. But if I am not checking them then it is scary to know that they could spike or drop tremendously.

Meanwhile, T has decided that snuggling against me, non-stop, is the only way to handle being sick. And I love the snuggles, don’t get me wrong. But it is so hard to take care of two screaming children at the same time, especially when one has a disease that could be life-threatening if not taken care of properly.

BUT we have survived the week. No one is in the hospital. S has not had severe symptoms and although his numbers have been all over the place, he has not been so high that I have had to take him to the doctor. I am grateful for that.

Tomorrow, I am hoping, my birthday money will come in. With it I plan to get a new camera. I am super excited even though it will be another point and shoot, and not a fancier one (like I would like). But hopefully it will do a better job of taking good pictures the first time (and responding) unlike my current one, that has lived a nice long life (3ish years?). Expect to see new pictures. And hopefully this weekend I can get some more blogging done for you guys, since I will have A’s help with the boys.

I love to hear what you are thinking!

