Wide Awake…and EXHAUSTED!

This has been a super long week.

I have worked on weaning T from co-sleeping and feeding throughout the night. Unfortunately it has been on hold by the fact that he was sick. I let him sleep cuddled up next to me the last couple of nights because he just was so miserable.

He’s still sick tonight but doing better. I’m trying to get him back into the mode of calming himself to sleep. So I sit awake listening to my poor baby cry.

I hate having to wean my little one of co-sleeping. I know that in the long run it is better for him, and better for me. The doc wouldn’t even be thrilled to know that we do co-sleep. She has already told me he doesn’t need to eat in the middle of the night. My friend, a lactation consultant, told me the same thing. But I love being snuggled up with my little guy.

What is right? What is wrong? Is is that wrong to cuddle against my 7 month old for a bit longer? I know that there are dangers involved with co-sleeping but since he only sort of co-sleep (we cuddle until he falls asleep and then I move him to his bassinet) does it really matter?

I don’t have the answers. I know what the docs would say. I know what the professionals would say. But I don’t know what I believe. I didn’t co-sleep with S except when he was really sick or wouldn’t sleep. I missed out on that with him. And soon T will not want to sleep next to me. Should I rush him to grow out of something that we both enjoy and find comforting?

If I don’t get him out of the habit of co-sleeping and feeding through the night, is it really going to cause long-term damage? I really don’t know.

What I do know is that I’m exhausted. My throat hurts and I don’t feel well. I have been up late all week either trying to get T to sleep through the night or checking S’s sugars/ketones (to make sure he doesn’t get seriously ill from this stupid cold). I think T is going to win again tonight.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Did any of you breastfeeding moms co-sleep? At what age did you start weaning them of middle of the night feedings? (Not looking for your advice on what to do but curious about your experiences.)

One thought on “Wide Awake…and EXHAUSTED!

  1. Cahleen says:

    I just wrote you a super detailed, and LONG comment and it got deleted! I’m so mad! For now I’ll just say that Jonathan is 19 months and we love co-sleeping. I’ll try and write more later. =)

I love to hear what you are thinking!

