The Beauty of Nature

On August 26th, my family had to evacuate  our house due to a threatening hurricane. Fortunately, the hurricane did not hit as hard as was originally predicted, but it did allow my family the opportunity to head up to upper New York earlier than we had previously expected.

We had already planned to visit the Falls on Labor Day weekend, following my husband’s conference in Syracuse. But with being forced to evacuate, we decided to switch our plans and go the weekend before the conference.

I fell in love! Niagara Falls blew me away with its beauty. I’ve seen some beautiful places in my life. I’ve been to both the Pacific and the Atlantic Oceans. I’ve been all over the Southern Coast of California. I have been to British Columbia, Canada. I have visited gorgeous Germany. I’ve been to Colorado, Utah, Washington, the Midwest, the South, and all over the Mid-Atlantic. But nothing compares to the majesty of Niagara Falls.

Just the sheer power of the Falls is beyond anything you can possibly imagine!

Included are a few of the pictures that I took on our trip. Hopefully it will give you a glimpse into the beauty that we were able to enjoy, and will inspire you to take your own trip up to the Falls.

(PS. A family trip to Niagara Falls is a fairly inexpensive one. Maid of the Mist, Cave of the Winds, and the trolley were really the attractions to pay for. Total per person it is around $30. Then you just have costs of hotel, food, and misc. Far cheaper than many vacations!)

On your left is the Falls. On the right is Canada. Next time we want to go there as well. You can also see the Maid of the Mist boat, heading towards the American Falls.

I took this picture of the “Rainbow Bridge,” which crosses from America to Canada, on the first night that we were there. We were waiting for the light display and the fireworks, and got to see the sun go down over the Falls. Although the Falls are not in the background (they were behind me), I love this particular picture.

As you can tell from this picture, it is possible to get right up over the American Falls. It is awe-inspiring and somewhat scary being so close to the Falls. There is a story of a teacher going over the Falls in a barrel (apparently a lot of people have tried, few have succeeded), and a child, of 9 years old (I believe), who was able to survive the fall in just regular clothing. I wouldn’t want to fall over those waters. Just the mist was cold enough to want to keep me away!

The Cave of the Winds was a pretty amazing tour of the Falls. We were able to climb right up next to the waterfall. As you can see here, there are people on the “Hurricane Deck”. They are essentially right under the falls. This tour has been around since the early 1900s and, as I understand it, once included actually going behind the falls itself. 

Here we are all decked out in our ponchos and way “cool” sandals that were part of admission. We carried the boys in our carriers and they did really well. S seemed to even enjoy the view! T was merely interested in trying to eat the poncho. The water was lapping over the sides and our feet as we stood getting our picture taken by one of the employees.

The Maid of the Mist was probably my favorite part. Here you can see a boat full of people in their Maid of the Mist ponchos riding up under the American Falls. We were standing above the Falls when we took this picture and the mist made for a hazy view of the boat.

Rainbows are common around the Falls and I was able to catch this perfect one while on the Maid of the Mist. Nothing is as amazing as being right underneath those powerful waterfalls!

4 thoughts on “The Beauty of Nature

  1. Nancy says:

    Awesome pictures. You are very fortunate to have had the chance to see the falls and have such a wonderful experience.

I love to hear what you are thinking!

