The Night Owl Mommy

I love being a mommy. I do. But I also love time off.

Nights have always been my favorite time of day. I am a hard-core night owl. I wish that the world would change the way it works and revolve around my night owl tendencies. Sadly, only a few places (like Wally World) are kind enough to do so for me.

But as a mom, nights are the most precious of commodities. This is THE time that I get to be alone. To be myself. To do whatever my heart desires.

I’ll admit that now that I have two little angels, I don’t spend as much time awake in the middle of the night as I used to. And when I do it is usually to read or take a bath. Rarely do I stay up to craft anymore. I kind of miss that. But I find that I lack the energy to do such things. And since it is nearly impossible to read during the day when the boys are awake, and baths are generally a shared thing with my 14 month old (he won’t bathe on his own and it saves me time to just do it together), taking the time to do those two things while the world around me is sleeping is a way in which I can relax and be in my own little world.

Tonight I sit at our dining room table, typing this blog. It feels wonderful to write again. I miss the feel of the keys under my fingers as I put my thoughts to paper…errr…screen. I am hoping to make this blog a daily tradition, with the weekends as an exception. It is my wish to express myself creatively through my writing, and to share some of the things that I have learned over the years and continue to learn.

Tonight, I want to share with you some of the family photos that we had taken last week. But before I show them to you, I would like to do a bit of shameless promotion.

Rick of Crazy I Photography posted an ad on facebook about doing a free photo shoot for anyone who was interested in an effort to build his experience and portfolio. My friend N saw it first and made sure to pass on his number so that I could contact him and get our family pictures taken. I was thrilled with the idea and promptly contacted him.

On the 30 of July he met up with us at our house (he lives and works on base) and we headed to a park to take the pictures. It wasn’t too hot, fortunately, but by the end of the shoot we were all pretty sweaty from the humidity.

It was a pleasure to work with Rick. He has a good eye and knew just how to capture our family. He had some great ideas that would have worked out wonderfully if S had cooperated. But as it is, I am pretty thrilled with the pictures and the way that they turned out.

Tonight I received the DVD with all the wonderful pictures on it. There are around 100 marvelous pictures of my boys and me. I was thrilled to go through them and find my favorites.

Christmas is just around the corner. Okay, its still several months away. But my brain is already thinking ahead. I can’t wait to put some of these pictures into use! The only problem will be how to use them, and which ones to use. Rick gave me so many great choices!

Here are just a few of my favorites.

Aren’t they precious? I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family and to be the mom of such gorgeous little boys.

Stay tuned tomorrow as I share a couple of little secrets that I have learned to help my child (who is super picky!) eat healthier.



I love to hear what you are thinking!

