Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Polyvore: A Tutorial Part 1

2 Comments

Pinterest has been all the rage for the last few years. And there is a good reason for it. Its fun to “pin” all those great ideas that you find when wasting time surfing the internet! And to be able to easily share them with all your friends? And spend hours organizing them into the perfect folders? What could be a better way to organize all those things you will probably never try at home?

I joke, as I too have been known to spend hours pinning things to my pinterest account. Recently I deleted just about everything and started fresh. It felt good to not have so much clutter on my boards. But I still love to use it as a place to store things that I want to come back to. Ideas that I think are genius. Hairstyles I love. Quotes that make me smile. Whatever makes me smile.

About a month or so ago my awesome friend Krystal told me about a site called Polyvore that she had been using to find really fun graphics for her Jamberry business. (By the way, are you in need of a consultant for your own Jamberry products? Check out her Facebook here!) I was intrigued and wanted to check it out so that I could make some graphics to use for my Lilla Rose Facebook parties.

Since then I have been playing on Polyvore a lot! I have so much fun making great graphics that can be used for a variety of different purposes and sharing them with my fellow Lilla Rose consultants. Several of them (YOU!) have asked how I make them. So I thought I would walk you through how I make a graphic on polyvore.

polyvore main page

The first step is super easy! You have to go to the website and create an account. I suggest making one with your Facebook as it will make it super easy to share your awesome creations with your friends when you are done making them. But if you want to create an account that is not associated with your Facebook there is an option for that as well.

polyvore main page 1

Okay, so you have an account. Now what?

There are a couple of things I suggest that you do before you get started in designing.

First, take a look at other people’s graphics. Browse through them and get a feel for how other people are placing their outfits and graphics. Look at the things that you like and don’t like. Click on the heart to like any of the graphics that really stick with you. And if you find someone who makes a lot of graphics you like, follow them. They will be a great reference for you in the future as you are figuring things out.

Second, get yourself a clipping tool. This is KEY to making a successful graphic. On the right side of the screen you will find your login name and possibly a graphic. If you click on the number right next to it, you will be taken to the “activity” page.

name and activity buttons

 

This will show you what other people have done with items you have clipped. But first, you will need to get the clipping tool. Simply click on “Get the Clipper” and follow their very clear directions on how to install your new tool.

Polyvore activity  page for clipping tool and show create

Now you are all set! You can browse the internet and “clip” any product, photo, etc that you want to save for later! This is an awesome tool that is much like the “pin” button for Pinterest. I think you will have a lot of fun with it.

Go! Explore! Get your account set up and get your clipping tool. Have a lot of fun!

In the next post I will be covering how to actually create an awesome graphic inspired by a very popular chick flick! I will show you some of the tools that I use, and help you get started in actually designing your own awesome graphics. But for now, just get on there and EXPLORE!

Blessings!

blog signature

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

2 thoughts on “Polyvore: A Tutorial Part 1

  1. Hi! I can’t get the “clipper” to install. Do you think it won’t work on my iPad?! Thanks for any insight.

    • Hi Carrie!

      My guess is that the iPad is the culprit. Did you try downloading the app? I know that my Nook will not allow me to really access all of polyvore’s features even though it is an android interfacing. Maybe try it on your computer. Sorry I don’t have a more concrete answer for you. Thanks for stopping by!

      Dana

I love to hear what you are thinking!

