Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

A Healthy Twist on Holiday Favorites: Pumpkin Pie

3 Comments

pumpkin pie_edited-1

I LOVE pumpkin pie.

No, you don’t understand. I really love pumpkin pie.

Last month was my birthday and I knew I wanted a pumpkin pie instead of a traditional cake. I tried a few different low carb, low sugar recipes, but I didn’t like any of them. They just weren’t right. So I set out on an adventure to create my own.

I think this recipe is marvelous. I could eat it for every meal. Seriously. Its just that good.

And I feel good eating it.

Take a look at the nutrition facts in comparison to a popular brand of frozen pumpkin pie.

Mine:

Calories: 335

Fat: 30 grams

Carbs: 6 grams net

Protein: 10 grams

Theirs:

Calories: 350

Fat: 14 grams

Carbs: 43 net grams

Protein: 6 grams

43 net carbs! Its amazing that it went from 43 to just 6. That is a huge difference in the world of carb counters. It is possible to have a delicious dessert on that low carb diet!

You will see that the fat is much higher in mine. However, it is full of healthy fats. Butter and cream are excellent sources of healthy fat. And the crust is made up of almond meal, which is also filled with wonderful, healthy fats. So don’t let that scare you away.

Ingredients:

Crust:

2 cups Almond Meal

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp butter

1 egg

Dash of stevia powder or one packet of Tuvia

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Pie Filling:

3/4 cup Truvia or Xylitol (I usually use a combination of the two)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

1/2 tsp ginger

2 eggs

15 oz can of pumpkin (or two cups fresh pureed pumpkin)

8 oz heavy cream

Directions:

1. In a food processor combine the almond flour, salt, stevia, and pumpkin pie spice. Pulse a few times until combined.

2. Add softened butter and egg. Continue to pulse until it starts forming a ball.

3. Spread into a greased 9″ pie pan. Set aside.

4. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

5. In a large bowl, or the food processor, combine sweetener and spices. Add in pumpkin, cream, and eggs. Beat until smooth.  Pour into prepared crust.

6. Place pie on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. Reduce heat to 350 and continue to cook for another 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean.

7. Cut into 8 delicious slices, serve with fat free whipped cream (or beat your own), and enjoy!

IMG_7305

Let me know what you think! I hope that you give it a try and find it as wonderful as I do.

Blessings,

blog signature

*Note: Coconut Oil can be substituted for butter. It will change the nutrition count a bit, but is also chock full of many nutrients.

**Truvia baking mix is NOT recommended. Sugar is a main ingredient in the baking mix, making it not a low carb, low calorie, or healthy substitute.

***Xylitol is a delicious and easy to work with substitute for sugar, however, it is a laxative and can cause digestive issues for some people. It is also dangerous for pets.

****It is possible to make this crust without a food processor. It will not be quite as smooth, but you can still knead it by hand and get a similar crust.

I’m linking up to:

centsibly-sugar-free-banner1

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

3 thoughts on “A Healthy Twist on Holiday Favorites: Pumpkin Pie

  1. This looks so yummy! I’m a newby to Tim healthy mama and am loving it so far! I nominated you for the Liebster award. Go check out my blog post to see what to do next. http://grassfedmama.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/the-liebster-award/

  2. This looks super yum – thanks for linking it up to Centsibly Sugar and Grain Free! :-) I like my crust made with flax – because I’m on a total flax kick. :-)

I love to hear what you are thinking!

