Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Tuna “Crabby Patties”

Leave a comment

Tuna Crabby Patties

These are amazing! I have to admit I am slightly addicted to the ease, taste, and simplicity of these wonderful patties.

If you are a THM’er you will recognize this recipe. This is simply my adaption of the delicious patties in our book.

If you are on WIC, you will find this to be a great use of those cans of tuna you get while breastfeeding (you know, other than tuna salad, again).

And if you are doing Atkins, this is an awesome way to get some inexpensive HEALTHY protein in while not overdoing the fat.

This makes enough for either one large serving or two medium servings.  I find, as a nursing mama, that I am full with this as one serving.

I could break it up into smaller servings if it is served with a large salad or some good sides (say some green beans, or steamed broccoli). And if you aren’t as overweight as me (ie. don’t need as much food to fuel your body), aren’t pregnant or nursing, there is a good chance that you could get away with even less. So if you are trying to save money, this is an awesome choice!

Tuna "crabby patties" take two. #trimhealthymama (2)

One of the things I fell in love with when we moved to the East Coast is Old Bay seasoning. So, when I created my crabby patties, I knew that I had to use it for seasoning. If you haven’t given it a try, I highly recommend it! Of course, if you are from the East Coast I am probably preaching to the choir.

Tuna “Crabby Patties”

Adapted from Trim Healthy Mama

Serves 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 1 can tuna (canned in water and drained)
  • 1 egg
  • Old Bay Seasoning, to taste
  • Sprinkle of Parmesan Cheese
  • Sprinkle of Nutritional Yeast
  • Green Onion, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp Oatmeal, ground in a coffee grinder
  • Coconut Oil

Optional ingredients:

  • Joseph’s pita bread (to put the patties on)
  • Slice of cheddar cheese
  • Lettuce, tomato, onion, hummus, mayo, and any other burger like toppings

Directions:

  • After draining your can of tuna, put in a bowl and smash with a fork.
  • Add seasoning, cheese, onion, and yeast. Taste to make sure you have a good amount of seasoning.
  • Heat coconut oil in a skillet.
  • Once the flavor is to your taste, add oatmeal and egg. Mix well, breaking up all the little chunks.
  • Form into one large patty (will be slightly mushy in the center), two medium patties, or for a super crispy taste, 4 smaller patties.
  • Place in heated oil and fry until a nice golden brown on both sides.

Net carbs: 6-8 grams for 1 big patty (Note: Will increase depending on the amount of nutritional yeast used.)

Yum! My favorite way to eat it is with a slice of cheddar and some spinach, sandwiched with a thin layer of garlic hummus on a split low carb Joseph’s pita.

Tuna "Crabby Patty" Burger

Enjoy!

blog signature

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

