Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

{Tutorial} Pump Pouch Number 2

Leave a comment

Note: The following design is my own. Please do not reproduce for any purpose other than personal. Do not use this tutorial to make pouches to sell. It took time and hard work to come up with this design and I would appreciate it if you would respect that. Thanks!

I know I just did a pump pouch tutorial. And I still think that pouch is functional, and a great option. (Although, please note the change in pouch size that I mentioned.)

However, I like the way the one that we ordered online fits my little guy. It just fits better, and lies flatter. The one I made is fine and does the job, but I just like the way the purchased one fits my little guy.

Rather than feeling discouraged, I sat down with it and took a look at how it was put together. Turns out it is super simple! So I got to work on whipping up a new pouch in a similar design.

Since I know that there are some of you mama’s who like this style better, I thought I would share how I put it together. I promise, it is easy! I whipped one together about 30 minutes. And that was with me trying to figure it all out! Lets get started!

Materials:

~2 pieces of fabric 6″ X 7″
(If using cotton fabrics, such as those sold in the quilting section, I recommend using a piece of light-medium weight interfacing also measuring 6″ X 7″ as well. Or use flannel as the inside layer to add some thickness and stability to the pouch.)

~1 zipper at least 7″ long

~2 pieces of fabric 2″ X 6″

~2 pieces of hook and 2 pieces of loop that are each cut to 2″ long (optional)

~1 piece of fabric measuring 3″ X child’s waist measurement (optional)

~1 piece of 3/4″ elastic cut to 2″ shorter than child’s waist (optional)

Directions:

1. If using cotton fabrics, first attach interfacing to the backside of your liner fabric. I highly recommend fusible interfacing. But you can baste non-fusible to the very edge of the fabric to keep it in place.

2. Place the outer and inner fabrics together, right sides out. If you have a serger. serge all the way around the entire rectangle. If you are using a sewing machine, sew along the edge with a zig zag stitch. This is to hold the pieces together and to help with fraying. It doesn’t have to be perfect but be sure to keep within a 1/4″ seam allowance.

McQueen fabric shows the two pieces stitched together with a serger.

The star fabric shows the zig zag stitch.

(I apologize for the lighting in my photos. I worked on these this evening and my living room has tricky lighting.)

Note: If you want to add the buttonhole here, this is a good time. I’m not sure why I didn’t think of doing it at this point before. Lol! Measure the exact middle of your fabric and put in your buttonhole. I always use my middle point as my starting point for the buttonhole. It creates a slightly off centered hole that works well for us. If you want it centered then measure where you want to start using the center point as a beginning. This is so much easier than trying to work around the zipper!

3. Lay zipper facing up on your workspace. Lay your rectangle on the zipper with the outer print touching the zipper. The longer side of the fabric should be lined up with the zipper. Stitch in place using a straight stitch. Reinforce with a second row of stitches if desired.

4. Flip the fabric over the zipper. Now the zipper should be upside down on top of your outer fabric. (I know its hard to see in this picture but the top is stitched to the fabric and the zipper is upside down.)

5. Fold fabric up so that you can line the fabric up with the other side of the zipper. The outer fabric should now be hidden in a kind of tube. Stitch in place once again.

6. This step is optional, but if you would like to add a buttonhole to feed the tubing through, now is a good time to do so. Adjust your sewing machine for your buttonhole foot, and follow your manufacturer’s instructions. You want the hole to be placed on the opposite side of the zipper, as this is the part that will be against the body. I suggest that the length of the buttonhole is parallel with the zipper. Be cautious when putting it in not to catch the zipper in the process by unzipping it as far as possible.

If you are having problems with your foot catching on the zipper you can use a zig zag stitch and create a little box. After creating a box (make sure to backstitch each stitch several times) cut open with a seam ripper as you would with a buttonhole.

See note above in step number 2.

7. Set the pouch aside for a few minutes and grab the 2″ X 6″ pieces of fabric. You are going to turn these into loops. First fold the fabric into the middle so that the ends meet. Then fold the whole thing in half. Stitch around the edge. My original tutorial has photos and a better explanation on how to do this.

8. Fold in half. Iron. Lay the ends over one another and stitch in place.

9. Pin the loops on either side of the pouch openings, laying towards one another on top of the outer fabric and directly across from the zipper. (I pin far away from the edge so that the pins do not get in the way when I am stitching.)

10. Make sure the zipper is unzipped about 3/4 of the way (of the pouch, not the zipper if you are using a long zipper like I am in these pictures). It needs to be unzipped so that you can flip the pouch right side out when you are finished.

11. This part is a little tricky. You are going to create kind of an accordion fold on each end. First, center your zipper. Next, take a side fold and bring it into the center. Do the same for the other side fold. It should look like this when you are finished.

Stitch over it carefully several times. Clip the zipper on that end.

12. Following the folds that you just created, tuck the folded ends towards the zipper on the other side of the pouch in a similar manner. I know this is confusing. Hopefully you can see what I mean in the photo.

Stitch over it several times. Clip the zipper.

13. Turn right side out and admire your handiwork.

You have the option of being finished at this point. If you already have a belt for your child to wear you can attach the belt through the loops. Or you could make your own belt out of a variety of materials. In this case, I wanted to make a simple velcro belt that would be easy to replace and easy to put on. The following are directions on how to do that using your elastic, long piece of fabric, and hook/loop included in the materials. (I did not add a lot of photos since I feel it is pretty self-explanatory. If you are confused on anything, please feel free to leave me a comment and I will try to clear it up.)

1. Right sides together, fold strip in half lengthwise. Stitch together using a 1/4″ seam allowance.

2. Turn right side out using your favorite method. (This is my favorite tool for projects like this.) With the seam in the center of one side, press.

3. With a safety pin attached to one end of the elastic, thread it through the tube. Stop when the end without the pin on it is about 3/4″ down from the raw edge. Stitch in place and fold down the ends (either by tucking them inside the tube or by creating a rolled hem) so that you have a smooth edge.

4. Pull the safety pin till the end of the elastic hits about 3/4″ away from the other end. Stitch in place. You can leave the safety pin until after stitching or take it out ahead of time. Play around with it and see what works best for you.Fold down the ends and stitch that side as well.

5. Smooth out one side of the belt. You want it to be nice and smooth with the bunched fabric in the center of the belt. Place a piece of hook next to your stitched end and stitch into place. Repeat with your loop about 1/4″ away from the end of the hook.

6. Repeat the process on the other side of the belt.

7. When that is finished put the belt under your needle at the edge of one piece of loop. Pulling the ends stitch down the center of the belt. You want to make sure the elastic is nice and secure. This also ensures even bunching. (In my photo I am not pulling tightly and I do not have a hand on the other end of my belt. This was so I could hold the camera. Make sure you pull taut and that you pull from the other end as you are sewing.)

Finished belt with hook/loop on both ends and gathered/stitched elastic in the center.

8. Take your pouch, loop one end of the belt through one loop and secure. Place around your child’s waist and repeat on the other end.

And since he was asleep when I finished this one. Here is a picture of my silly little boy wearing the McQueen one that I made (the first one of this style that I created). He was very upset when I had to wash it earlier today because it is by far his favorite!

If you want it more adjustable you can easily extend the amount of hook and loop used. The more you use, the more room you have for expansion. I chose a smaller amount with the idea of replacing the belt as needed. This makes the pouch much more versatile as the child grows. If the pouch is still in good condition but the belt is too small, simply switch it out with another one.

As with the last tutorial, I would love to know how this works for you. This is by far my preferred method now that I have made a few of each. I like how it lays on him, how it holds the pump, and the hole to feed the tubing. Plus, he likes it better. It seems far more comfortable on him. Let me know what you think!

Blessings!

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

