Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Five Minute Friday: Join

4 Comments

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

This week’s prompt is “join.”

I am so glad that I joined the diabetes support group on facebook.

A year ago S was diagnosed. I felt so alone. Even at the hospital they acted like no one ever has a 15 month old diagnosed with type 1 diabetes.

Like I was alone. The only mother in the world with a baby who’s pancreas was no longer working.

But I didn’t believe it.

Boy am I glad that I didn’t believe it!

I remember searching the internet. Looking for hope. Help. Someone who knew what I was experiencing. Someone who could help me with the overwhelming feeling that I was feeling. Someone.

Oh I knew I had my husband. He’s wonderful. But he was as lost as me.

And the bulk of the care is mine.

But I stumbled upon a site. Diapers and Diabetes. And boy am I glad that I did. I found the connected facebook group and I asked to be able to join.

Thank God that I joined that group! Thank God that a wonderful mama created the group for me to be able to join!

I don’t know where we would be now without it. They have been my life support. They have become my best friends when I have felt so alone. They have answered my questions, encouraged me, prayed for me, and listened while I vented. It has been my lifeline.

Joining is the best decision that I ever made. And as a woman deals with a son in the hospital due to pnemonia and out of control blood sugars, and another mother deals with a new diagnosis, I am grateful that I am able to be the support to them that they have been to me.

Thank you ladies! Thank you for letting me join you on this rough road ahead of us!

The next couple of weeks are going to be more emotional for me. S started showing serious symptoms on August 26th last year. He was diagnosed on Labor Day, September 5th. So this weekend starts the two weeks of terror that we encountered last year. I am so blessed to have met so many people across the world in my online support group. But I am even more blessed to still have my little S. Thank God that he not only made it through DKA but has made it through the last year. I can’t say we have diabetes under control or that we know everything, but I am so grateful that we have learned as much as we have. And my support group has been a huge part of that. So thank you ladies! You mean the world to me!

Our little family right after S started getting really sick and a week before diagnosis.

My happy little boy this July. How can you not just love that face! :)

Blessings,

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Join

  1. Isn’t the internet amazing? I am so, so grateful for you that you found that group of moms just when you needed them, and that you don’t have to navigate something so scary on your own. Thank you for sharing your story with us…and blessings on sweet S and your whole family!

  2. What a beautiful family you have and a darling little man! I love the fact that God brings people into our lives exactly when we need them! Thanks so much for sharing! Blessings!

    • Thanks! I am so grateful! God has truly blessed us even while dealing with a horrible, life changing disease. Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment! :)

I love to hear what you are thinking!

