Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Five Minute Friday: Connect

2 Comments

This week’s topic is connect. So without further ado, here is my five minutes on connect.

Its hard to connect.

Hard to find the right person who really GETS you. The person who can see your soul. See right through what you say and do.

It doesn’t have to be a spouse. My spouse can do that. He can see right through me and know when something else is going on. But there are other people to whom we connect.

We connect with people online. Our “friends” on facebook. Some are people we have met in person and some are people who share interests causing us to form a connection.

We connect with people in lines at the store. Maybe we don’t want to connect with them, but oftentimes, when standing in line, there is a connection formed.

We connect, as parents, with other parents. We take our kids out together and allow them to play.

We connect with various social groups. Churches, interest groups, etc. There is always someone else who shares a common interest.

But even in this world where connection is so easy (we have the internet, cell phones, cars, etc.) we do a lot of disconnecting from the immediate world around us. We hide in our homes. We play on the internet and “connect” virtually but not in person. We watch tv and keep a “connection” with current events but don’t participate in them.

So in reality, despite the fact that we have lots of opportunities to connect, a lot of times we choose to disconnect instead. To set ourselves apart from the world and live in our own little bubbles.

I wonder if all our technology that should help us to connect is actually to blame for our disconnect?

And there you have it. My 5 minute writing on the topic of connect. More random this week, I think. But perhaps it stems off of my own feeling of disconnect with the live world around me versus the virtual world that I put myself into. Anyway, I am linking up to Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday. Check her page out for other blogger’s responses to the topic.

Blessings,

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Connect

  1. Visiting from Gypsy Mama’s blog.

    Really good points and thoughts, how often do we use our technology to hide? My guess is a lot of the time. Sure we can ‘stay in touch’ with others that don’t live close but isn’t that text reducing the phone calls and visits we could make? Wonderful post.

I love to hear what you are thinking!

