Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Five Minute Friday: Story

2 Comments

I had so much fun with last week’s prompt that I thought it would be good to join in again on this week’s prompt. The word for the week is “story.” With no further ado, here is my five minute writing on the word “story.”

The story never changes. Not really. Boy meets girl, girl meets boy…they fall in love, and live happily ever after. At least that’s the way the stories go when we tell them to our kids. But that’s not how it really goes. Life isn’t so simple. Life is full of ups and downs, roller coaster rides. Boy meets girl, boy falls in love with girl, girl doesn’t want to be more then friends. That’s how life really works. Or boy meets girl, girl falls in love with boy, boy wants just a fling and its all over before you know it. I’m lucky. I’ve had my fairy tale. I met my boy, we fell in love, and we got married. Now we are living the “happily ever after.” How come the stories never talk about what happens after the wedding? They never talk about the bills that have to be paid. The jobs that have to be done. The house that has to be cleaned. The ups and downs of having children. The mundaneness of everyday life. Fairy tales, stories, never cover this part of life. But I think that’s the best part of life. Oh the fairy tale part of the story is wonderful. I loved going through it. But the “happily ever after” is the best part of the story, because that is the part of the story where the characters really come to life. That is where characters are shaped, life is altered, and the ups and downs occur. The “happily ever after” is when you find out if it is a forever love or just an infatuation. Its where you learn every in and out about that person you fell in love with. And that’s why I prefer living my life in the “happily ever after” of my story.

Linking up with:

Five Minute Friday

Hop on over to Lisa-Jo’s page and check out other people’s 5 minute Fridays.

Blessings!

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Story

  1. Thanks for coming to visit me on my post!

    I am so thankful that I have a couple very good friends who were VERY honest with me before I got married about the hard part – but also all the amazing parts that come with the marriage. Sure, the dating was fun and the wedding was beautiful but THIS is life and I wouldn’t go back to that part again!

  2. Yes, so true. The real story is lived out in the happily ever after – and that takes WORK. (But is worth it!) Stopping by from five minute friday

I love to hear what you are thinking!

