Adaynasmile

Just another day in paradise…

Gratitudes #100-106 and Week 13-14 Photos

Leave a comment

What a rough week! But we have made it through. I am so grateful that Sunday is the end of an old week or the beginning of a new one, however you look at it. Either way, the old has been pushed away for the new.

It took a bit more reaching than normal this week to find my gratitudes but here they are. What are you grateful for this week? I would love to hear!

100: I am thankful for snuggles with my babies and the chance to just relax.

101: I am grateful for all the wonderful websites where people are so willing to share their recipes, tips, and tricks. It is thanks to those people that I was able convince my children to eat some nutritious food.

102: I am grateful for a few hours of adult time at church. Even if I wasn’t in the best of moods.

103: I am grateful that T didn’t drop any lower than 27 and that we were able to get him help. I can’t imagine how low he could have gotten if I didn’t treat him when I did!

104: I am grateful that they didn’t have to keep T overnight and that we were all able to be home together.

105: Although we started out with a low, I am grateful that we had a pretty relaxing day today.

106: I am grateful for new beginnings. New life in Christ, renewal with spring, and a new week to start fresh.

******************************************************************

Week 13 was actually last week’s photo. But since the theme was treasure I wanted to wait until after Easter.

Unfortunately T was sick on Easter, so we didn’t do a hunt or go to church or anything that we normally would have done. Aaron and I had a decent Easter dinner but mostly we just relaxed. But I did put together their Easter baskets.

The bunnies we got last year after Easter from Waldenbooks. They were 75% off and only cost us around $3 a piece. They are nice and cuddly.

The DVDs we got at Sam’s. It was a 2 pack for $10. This was perfect because it had one of S’s favorites (King George and his Ducky) and one that Aaron and I had not seen a gazillion times yet.

Each boy got a chocolate bunny (which I forgot about and they still haven’t eaten. Oops!) which I got on sale at Target shortly before Easter. The baskets I got on clearance last year for dirt cheap. And the grass was the same way.

Nana sent T and S the clothes and some goodies, which helped to round out the basket and make it look nice and full.

Since we didn’t go outside at all on Easter I didn’t get very good pictures of the kids or their baskets. I was disappointed since I really wanted some cute Easter pictures. But sick kids do not take very good pictures. So I let them off the hook.

The other day I was playing with the settings on my camera and I took a great picture of the grass in our backyard. I thought, “What a perfect addition to the photo of the baskets?” So, a little time playing with photoshop took me from this:

to this:
Week 13 treasure

Isn’t that amazing?! Looks like I shot the baskets out on the grass!

I had to do a lot of fiddling to get it to look so good. Including selecting, cutting, pasting, darkening, adding the border, blending, and adding the text. But it was fun to play around with it all and to create such a fun picture. I don’t know if I could have taken one that looked so good! (Although it does make the baskets look smaller than they are or the grass much taller than it is!)

For week 14 the theme was party. I knew that I wasn’t going to be attending a party anytime soon, so I thought I would just pull one of the pictures from T’s birthday party and use it. So here we all are (minus Nenna and C who had to leave early) at the end of the party, posed in front of the wonderful cow. I love how this picture turned out!
Week 14 party

I’m still a week behind, I believe. Week 15 (book) should be easy enough, but I guess I will have to go on a picnic in order to take Week 16′s theme photo. But that’s okay. I’m sure the boys and I will have a blast going on a picnic sometime this week. Even if it is just in our backyard. ;)

Blessings,

Author: adaynasmile

I am a "domestic engineer" who enjoys dabbling in a variety of different artistic endeavors. I am blessed to be the wife of a wonderful man, and the mother of three handsome young men. These four men are the light of my life. Our life has a different set of challenges from many people, as we live the life of a military family, supporting my husband as he serves in the Air Force. The older boys are also Irish Twins, and are almost exactly 9 months apart. S was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes in September 2011, which has brought its own challenges. T was diagnosed with hypoglycemia in September 2012. We live a hard life but one we wouldn't trade for the world. This blog is a place for me to share our life stories, my creative experiments, links to various things that I discover online, and any random thoughts that I may have. Thanks for checking it out!

I love to hear what you are thinking!

